Friday, June 13, 2008

Friday The 13th.... I could really use a drink.


The last time I was online was FRIDAY May 2nd. Ironically, that day was not much better than this one. For the last month everything I own, except a suitcase and my Sox hat, has been in a storage unit sitting in a half dozen inches of water. Wait, it gets worse... The owner of said unit, refuses to set things right. I lost a lot of furniture that I had replaced after Hurricane Katrina. I'll call him out in a few, lets move ahead a bit, the game starts soon.
THE GAME! Today will be only the second game I have seen in over a month. I missed a no hitter. I missed Manny's 500. I missed Iron Mike's 4 bagger last night. I missed the Red Sox, I really missed Tek!
Lucky for me I know a crazy chick up in Auburn, Ma. that shares my love of all things Varitek. Kim sent me text messages with score updates, highlights and and bragged a lot. I love her for that :-) Thanks Kim, you rock!
I've been living in a basement for over a while I waited for the people living in my new "house"* to move into their new "house" so that I could move into their old "house" since I had already moved out of my "house". If I wrote that right you are on your way to the kitchen to find a beer. Be a doll and bring one for me, please? I could really use a drink. {* my new house is a duplex, my old house was an apartment and the previous tenents of my duplex are doing MUCH better than I am}
Today, Friday the 13th, I got cable and I'm back online. The day started out pretty good for a cursed day. I woke up late, forgot to put the carafe on the warmer to catch the coffee. After my cold shower {water heater didn't} I mopped caffeine off the floor, resisting the urge to find a straw. Then things got bad... Where is my beer? I said please. The cable jerk that "installed" my Internet {we all know who really installed my cable. When they hand you an Ethernet cable and say with a smile "all you have to do is plug it in" tell them to bend over} neglected to give me my master password and user name. That's OK I found a way around that for now. The problem is the book I keep all my user names and passwords is missing. It's in the house, somewhere. I only just found the bag with my clean panties and socks. Moving is fun, huh? I could not for the life of me, remember my Google user name and password! How am I supposed to remember all of that? I think we should use our Social Security numbers for our user names. It's not like everyone doesn't know it anyway. When I signed up for cable, she rattled off my social for me to verify and told me the last 4 digits are my pin number!
I got sidetracked, sorry. The point is the cable jerk "installed" cable, DVR and Internet, spewed the directions on how to use all of them in under 3 seconds and was down the road when I thought to say "WTF did he say?" My child took the the remote for the Cable and DVR and told me he would explain it to me after I've had a beer and calmed down a bit. We have a lot of catching up to do, but not right now. I'm going to drink a few and watch a Red Sox game... at last, I'm in my happy place and all is well in my world {for now}.

No comments: