Today I celebrated Fathers Day a day early. My parents and Grandparents {as well as all my brothers and sisters} are all dead. I like old people, they make me laugh, think, and feel a strong sense of gratitude for what the "Greatest Generation" did for the "Baby Boomers". That's me, I came in at the end. Also, I think it's important for children to have old people in thier lives. So today, my son and I celebrated Fathers Day {and Mothers Day} with a couple of old folks we know and had a wonderful day. I cooked dinner for them while we all watched the Red Sox game. We moved the dining room table into the living room so that we wouldn't miss any of the excitement. Boy, was there some excitement! By the end of the game {and desert} we converted an 81 year old woman into a Red Sox fan. I had help. Wake, Youk, Mike, Jacoby, Coco...
She didn't know a whole lot about baseball, except that you can really piss of your son when you throw out his cards. She said this was the first game she ever actually sat down and watched, with someone who could explain what was happening, without telling her to shush! My son is 10 and is, like his Mom, a Sox fan through and through. He had a great time showing of his knowledge, and admitting that he was learning a lot as well.
Granny was was amazed that so many people were yelling Youk's name, away from Fenway. This, in fact, continues to amaze me as well. She thought Manny had "beautiful hair!" Coco had a gorgeous smile. She didn't understand how Wake could throw the ball so slow and still they missed it. We explained the knuckle ball. Because we DVR'd the game we could show it to her in slow motion. The thought Pedroia "much to small to play with those big men, he might get hurt". Pap looked ferocious! Lowell was "a real looker!" When the Sox hit back to back homers to stay in it, I thought the excitement and the stress of the bottom of the inning might kill her. I didn't need to worry, she was hooked!
I wore one of my Tek shirts today. About half way through the game she asked about him. "I see his name on your shirt and you and Gage have talked about him all day. Is he one of those men that have had their numbers painted on the wall?" "Yes", I said. "But not yet." We explained Varitek. Tomorrow she wants to come over to watch the game with us again, because she wants to see the god. I may have gushed a little. I hope he is well enough to play. I bet he hopes so too.
By the 2nd inning Granny had a pad of paper and pen and was writing down the batting order and their positions. By the end of the 8th, she wanted to know where she could get a hat. While the Sox congratulated themselves on a hard win, she was giving me a list of Red Sox items she wanted me to order off the Internet and a handful of cash. As she was leaving, she told me her son was a Yankee fan. My job is complete. The Nation got a little bigger.
Tomorrow I will show her the Red Sox website. Let her pick out what she wants before the game starts then, we will continue her indoctriNATION. Gage thinks it's a great idea to show her the ALCS and World Series videos. She is missing Papi, Manny,{being Manny} Tek and Dice K because of injuries and illness.
Today she got to see Jacoby steal 2 bases. That was enough to give him the most stolen bases by a rookie since 1908. Wow. He also leads the Major League in stolen bases, that's everybody.
I thinks she's a little bit in love with him, but aren't we all? She saw Sean Casey get the giggles after introducing his team mates. She's a little in love with him too...
I realize that I am probably just as excited about tomorrows game as she is! For her sake, I hope our boys hit lots of home runs {Granny really likes to see them fly!} and we steal a few bases {she likes to see Jacoby fly too}. Beckett starts tomorrow, I really hope we don't kill her.
Saturday, June 14, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)




No comments:
Post a Comment